Randarda Lake(Rajkot, Gujarat, India) gets wings

Sunset At Randada Lake, Rajkot, Gujarat, India.

Sunset At Randarda Lake, Rajkot, Gujarat, India.

Randarda Lake has turned into a bird watchers paradise with a large number of migratory birds arriving at the water body. The 100 year old lake is home to many indigenous birds also.

The natural lake with shallow water is located near Rajkot Municipal Corporation’s (RMC’s) Pradhyuman Park Zoo. According to ardent bird watcher Ashol Mashru, “This Lake is home to about 167 bird species which include 15 species of ducks and eight of eight of fly catcher. As many as 60 species of migratory birds can be spotted here”.

Purple Moorhen at Randarda Lake, Rajkot, Gujarat, India

Purple Moorhen at Randarda Lake, Rajkot, Gujarat, India

He said that Randarda Lake has supporting natural eco – system with shallow water which provide suitable environment for birds. Moreover, there is a nursery managed by forest department adjoining the lake that provides good tree cover where birds can roost. Some of the bird species that can be seen there include black tailed god-wit, rosy pastor, pheasant tailed jacana, purple moor hen, wigeon, common teal, pelican and spoon bill.

Common Teal at Randarda Lake, Rajkot, Gujarat, India

Common Teal at Randarda Lake, Rajkot, Gujarat, India

Courtesy:- Times of India

16 Comments

  1. Ted Chol said,

    December 15, 2012 at 10:28 am

    Really neat site write-up.Truly wanting forward to read through far more. Awesome.

  2. January 5, 2013 at 12:58 am

    I really like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and coverage! Keep up the great works guys I’ve you guys to blogroll.

  3. webpage said,

    January 5, 2013 at 10:26 am

    Thanks for the article on the subject, I found it to be very exciting and relevant, hope to see more from your blog soon.

  4. address said,

    January 5, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    I must say splendid work on the post. It really gave me a good understanding on a topic I am not to familar with.

  5. main page said,

    January 6, 2013 at 9:50 am

    It always disturbs me that people don’t seem to hold this view. Good job on your blog and I shall be sure to share this page.

  6. source said,

    January 6, 2013 at 11:07 am

    My spouse and I stumbled over here different page and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to exploring your web page again.

  7. January 6, 2013 at 11:36 am

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may come back in the future. I want to encourage one to continue your great posts, have a nice day!

  8. January 6, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    Hey there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and fantastic design and style.

  9. January 8, 2013 at 4:36 am

    Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish only about gossip and internet stuff and this is really annoying. A good web site with interesting content, that is what I need. Thank you for making this web-site, and I’ll be visiting again. Do you do newsletters? I Can’t find it.

  10. April 10, 2013 at 4:02 am

    It’s really a great and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  11. coffee beans said,

    July 10, 2013 at 11:43 am

    There is noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made certain nice points in features also.

  12. Travel said,

    July 11, 2013 at 12:10 am

    very nice post, i certainly love this website, keep on it

  13. July 12, 2013 at 8:31 am

    This web site is really a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll definitely discover it.

  14. July 13, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

  15. July 14, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    This really answered my problem, thank you!

  16. Debosmita said,

    March 22, 2016 at 6:01 am

    Thank you for the wonderful pictures of the Randarda Lake, in Rajkot. Rajkot being the third-most advanced district in Gujarat, has been selected as one of the hundred Indian cities to be developed as a smart city. It also had a significant part in the Indian independence movement and there are many places to visit in Rajkot which are of historical relevance.


Leave a Reply

