Decline rate of vultures in India slows

Vultures may not be the most pleasant birds to contemplate, given their not so pleasant appearance and association with death, but they serve a vital role in an Eco – system by eating dead flesh.

vultures

Throughout India, vulture populations have plummeted to less than one percent of what they were a few decades ago, leading to an epidemic of uneaten cattle carcasses and spawning an increase in the number of rats, feral dogs and human rabies cases from dog bites.

But they may be some hope for these much maligned birds: Their decline had slowed, stopped or even reversed in some areas of the Indian Subcontinent, according to a paper published on February 7th in the journal – Science.

The birds declined largely because ranchers started giving their cattle an anti inflammatory drug called diclofenac that the birds ingested when they ate the dead cattle, paper author and Cambridge researcher Andrew Balmford said. In 2006, following revelations that diclofenac was deadly to the birds, the Government of India, Pakistan and Nepal banned the use of the drug for cattle.

Bangladesh followed in 2010, and in May 2012 the four governments reached an ‘unprecedented political agreement’ to prevent unintentional poisoning of the vultures from veterinary drugs, Balmford told OurAmazingPlanet.

images (1)

Many ranchers have adopted an alternative drug that is safe to vultures, Balmford said, but the increase of other drugs in concerning, especially one that’s close in structure to diclofenac, Balmford said. Restrictions on these drugs are needed, he added.

Nevertheless, vulture numbers have leveled off in many areas, and increase elsewhere.

Courtesy:- Times Of India ( Monday 11th, February, 2013)

25 Comments

  1. February 18, 2013 at 11:56 pm

    We stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you.

    Look forward to looking at your web page yet again.

  2. February 21, 2013 at 2:11 am

    It’s amazing in support of me to have a web page, which is valuable in support of my knowledge. thanks admin

  3. February 23, 2013 at 5:33 am

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and also
    the rest of the website is very good.

  4. February 23, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    I like the helpful information you provide to your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again right here frequently.
    I’m fairly certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right right here! Good luck for the next!

  5. Allison said,

    February 23, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    Very shortly this web page will be famous amid all blogging
    users, due to it’s nice articles or reviews

  6. February 24, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later. All the best

  7. February 26, 2013 at 1:25 am

    It’s in fact very complicated in this active life to listen news on Television, so I only use internet for that reason, and obtain the latest news.

  8. March 1, 2013 at 2:07 am

    Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn.

    That is a very smartly written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your helpful information.

    Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  9. Heather said,

    March 1, 2013 at 8:26 am

    I couldn’t resist commenting. Very well written!

  10. March 1, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Hi, every time i used to check website posts here in the early hours in the
    dawn, because i enjoy to find out more and more.

  11. March 3, 2013 at 2:11 am

    I’m not positive where you are getting your info, however great topic. I must spend some time studying more or working out more. Thanks for magnificent information I used to be in search of this information for my mission.

  12. March 3, 2013 at 5:08 am

    My partner and I stumbled over here different web address and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to checking out your web page yet again.

  13. Raymond said,

    March 3, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also visit this website on regular basis to take updated from most recent information.

  14. Mary said,

    March 5, 2013 at 7:11 am

    Your method of describing the whole thing in this article is really
    nice, all can effortlessly understand it, Thanks a lot.

  15. March 5, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    Magnificent web site. Lots of useful information here.
    I’m sending it to several buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks in your effort!

  16. March 6, 2013 at 1:19 am

    Fine way of telling, and pleasant paragraph to obtain facts on the
    topic of my presentation subject matter, which i am going to convey
    in college.

  17. March 6, 2013 at 5:06 am

    very good put up, i definitely love this web site, keep on it

  18. Ernest said,

    March 6, 2013 at 8:17 am

    For newest information you have to pay a quick visit internet and
    on web I found this web site as a finest website for most recent updates.

  19. March 7, 2013 at 1:54 am

    Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the outstanding work!

  20. Google said,

    March 10, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    we came across a cool site that you simply could possibly enjoy. Take a look for those who want

  21. March 11, 2013 at 3:56 am

    Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I
    came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be
    tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and excellent design.

  22. March 11, 2013 at 7:16 am

    I think the admin of this site is truly working hard in favor of his web page,
    because here every data is quality based material.

  23. March 11, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    My spouse and I stumbled over here different
    website and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

  24. June 5, 2013 at 7:43 am

    You could definitely see your enthusiasm in the article
    you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say
    how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

  25. Felicia said,

    August 7, 2014 at 3:43 am

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually feel this web site needs far
    more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the information!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,290 other followers

